District #4- Max Rodriguez

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Welcome to District 4

max rodriguez¡Bienvenidos! Welcome to my website. It is an honor and a privilege to serve my community. I hope you find this website useful and informative. It is designed to give you easy access to several county departments and links. It also contains numerous local, state and federal resources. Please do not hesitate to contact me with comments, questions, or concerns. I am dedicated to helping you in any way I can. I encourage you to stay involved and keep in touch.

Max Rodriguez, District 4


Supervisor Max Rodriguez is currently the Chairman of the Madera County Board of Supervisors and serving his third term as the District 4 Representative. He was elected in 2004, reelected in 2008, and ran unopposed in 2012.

Max was born and raised in Madera California. As a lifelong resident of District 4, Max knows first-hand the challenges the community faces. He is fervently committed to improving the quality of life for working families in Madera County.

Max is a product of Madera High School where he graduated in 1958. He attended Fresno City College for a short period but had to cut his studies short to help provide for his family by working in the fields. Not long after, he began to work for American Forest Products better known as the North Fork Sawmill where he worked for 25 years. When the Sawmill closed in 1985, Max went back to school to become a Farmers Insurance Agent. He retired from the insurance industry in 2008.

While employed at the sawmill, Max became the Financial Secretary and President for the Lumber and Sawmill Workers Union (Local 2762). In 1979 he was appointed to the Madera District Fair Board by then Governor Jerry Brown. He was also appointed to the Madera County Mosquito Abatement Board from 1982 to 2001. He served as a Madera County Planning Commissioner for a short period before he decided to run for the Board of Supervisors seat in 2003. He is a past member and vice-president of the Pan-American club, a former volunteer for the American Heart Association, and a past member of the Madera Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, New Hope Madera, and the NAACP Branch 1084.

Max and his wife Sarah live in the City of Madera. He is a member of St. Joachim's Catholic Church. He enjoys spending time with his family, fishing, and camping.

Committee Memberships

  • Children & Families Commission: First 5 – Chairman
  • Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO)
  • Madera County Transportation Commission
  • Redevelopment Agency Oversite Boards (City of Madera & City of Chowchilla)
  • Native American Liaison Committee SB 621 Indian Gaming Local Community Benefit
  • Fresno/Madera Board of Supervisors Joint Meeting Representative
  • San Joaquin Valley Regional Association of CA Counties – 2013 President
  • CSAC – Board of Directors
  • CSAC – Health & Welfare Policy Committee
  • NACo – Human Services & Education Steering Committee
  • Flood Control & Water Conservation Agency
  • In Home Supportive Services
  • Madera County Industrial Development Authority
  • Madera County Redevelopment Agency
  • Public Financing Authority
  • High Speed Rail Task Force
  • Elected Department Heads Negotiation Committee
  • Request for Proposal (RFP) Development and Evaluation Committee
  • California Development Block Grant Committee (CDBG)
  • City of Madera Beautification Committee
  • Pet Committee (Ad Hoc)
  • California Women's Facility Citizens Advisory Committee- Alternate
  • Community Action Partnership of Madera County – Alternate
  • Foreign Trade Zone Advisory Board – Alternate
  • Interagency Children & Youth Services Council & Executive Committee – Alternate
  • Madera Ranch Oversite Committee – Alternate
  • San Joaquin River Conservancy – Alternate

District 4 Appointments

Assessment Appeals Board:

  • Betty Gonzales

Behavioral Health Board:

  • Dr. Loraine Goodwin
  • Minnie Aguirre

Civil Service Commission:

  • Joseph Rios

Mosquito Abatement & Vector Control:

  • Minnie Aguirre

Planning Commission:

  • Luis Ceja

Water Advisory Commission:

  • Ed McIntyre

Related Documents

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer